Catholic Foundation Art Competition

No entry fee and a $2,500 prize for the winner. Plus, see your art displayed on this 9 fOOT wall downtown in The Catholic Foundation Plaza in the Dallas Arts District.

Please note the 2022 Submission Requirements:
No photography or computer generated art will be accepted.

Deadline for submissions is September 8. Click below for the Art Competition submission guidelines.

You may drop off your submissions to The Catholic Foundation office M-F 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

12222 Merit Drive, suite 850, Dallas, TX 75251. (Inside Merit Tower)


About The Artist Competition

Heajung Jina Lee was our 2021 Year on The Plaza winner. Her submitted artwork titled "Be Happy" is on display at The Catholic Foundation Plaza in the heart of the Arts District located on the corner of Flora and Crockett Streets directly across from the Meyerson Symphony Center. 

Come visit The Catholic Foundation's 50th Year Anniversary gift to the people of Dallas, and see a new piece of art installed each fall in this unique urban oasis. We hope you will share the exciting upcoming 2022 annual competition details with your local professional artist friends. The submission deadline for this year's competition is September 8.

 The Catholic Foundation Plaza is a unique 3,900 square foot public space located at the Cathedral Shrine of the Virgin of Guadalupe, 2215 Ross Avenue, Dallas, Texas. The Plaza is located at the corner of Flora and Crockett Streets, directly across from the Meyerson Symphony Hall. The Plaza is in a highly visible location to visitors to The Dallas Arts District and is also one of the sites on the “Public Art Walk Dallas.”

Previous Winners of The Catholic Foundation Art Competition:

2006-07: “Celebrate Life, Celebrate Art,” Marty Ray
2007-08: “Trumpeting Angel,” Ann Cushing Gantz
2008-09: “Magic Carpet,” Pamela Nelson
2009-10: “Music on Parade,” David Zvanut
2010-11: “Downtown Playground,” J. Lynn Kelly
2011-12: “Dallas in Wonderland,” Rebecca Guy
2012-13: “When the Troops Come Marching Home to the City of Dallas, What a Day of Celebration That Will Be!” Cornelious Brackens Jr.
2013-14: "Homage to the Concertgebouw," James W. Keyes
2014-15: "The Dallas Arts District Word Search," Barbara Dybala
2015-16: "Paint the Town," Stuart Hausmann
2016-17: "Trinity River Origami," Tanya Joiner Slate
2017-18: "Tree of Life," Adriana Rivera
2018-19: "Windows to the City," Emily Holman Morris 
2019-20: "Saint Peter's Fish," Kimberley Peterson
2020-21: "Continuo," Robyn Jorde
2021-22: "Be Happy," Heajung Jina Lee