All Events


Art On The Plaza - 2021 Winning Entry

Congratulations to our 16th annual "Art On The Plaza" competition winning artist Heajung Jina Lee and her entry "Be Happy." We'll open our 17th annual competition in the summer so stay tuned for details!

You can watch the 2021 Facebook Live event that featured brief remarks from our president and CEO, the senior pastor of the Cathedral Santuario de Guadalupe in downtown Dallas and our winning artist with views of her beautiful work.

You can also view Be Happy in person any day of the week at 2216 Flora Street (SE corner of Flora and Pearl between the Cathedral and the Meyerson Symphony Center in the heart of the Dallas Arts District.

About The Art Competition

Congratulations to Heajung Jina Lee, the 2021 Year on The Plaza winner. Her submitted artwork titled, "Be Happy" is on display at The Catholic Foundation Plaza in the heart of the Arts District located on the corner of Flora and Crockett Streets directly across from the Meyerson Symphony Center. 

Come visit The Catholic Foundation's 50th Year Anniversary gift to the people of Dallas, and see a new piece of art installed each fall in this unique urban oasis.

The Catholic Foundation Plaza is a unique 3,900 square foot public space located at the rear of the Cathedral Shrine of the Virgin of Guadalupe, 2215 Ross Avenue, Dallas, Texas. The Plaza is located in the SW corner of Flora and Pearl Streets, directly across from the Meyerson Symphony Hall. The Plaza is in a highly visible location to visitors to The Dallas Arts District and is also one of the sites on the “Public Art Walk Dallas.”

Previous Winners of The Catholic Foundation Art Competition:

2006-07: “Celebrate Life, Celebrate Art,” Marty Ray
2007-08: “Trumpeting Angel,” Ann Cushing Gantz
2008-09: “Magic Carpet,” Pamela Nelson
2009-10: “Music on Parade,” David Zvanut
2010-11: “Downtown Playground,” J. Lynn Kelly
2011-12: “Dallas in Wonderland,” Rebecca Guy
2012-13: “When the Troops Come Marching Home to the City of Dallas, What a Day of Celebration That Will Be!” Cornelious Brackens Jr.
2013-14: "Homage to the Concertgebouw," James W. Keyes
2014-15: "The Dallas Arts District Word Search," Barbara Dybala
2015-16: "Paint the Town" Stuart Hausmann
2016-17: "Trinity River Origami" Tanya Joiner Slate
2017-18: "Tree of Life" Adriana Rivera
2018-19 "Windows to the City" Emily Holman Morris
2019-20: "Saint Peter's Fish" Kimberley Peterson 
2020-21: "Continuo" by Robyn Jorde
2021-22: "Be Happy" by Heajung Jina Lee


Comments are closed.